Breakfast: The most important meal

Posted on

Confession: I am not a regular breakfast eater. Normally I wake up, head to the gym or class and grab an early lunch when I get home. I hear all of the time from people that they can’t imagine starting out the day without breakfast and they think I’m crazy. Call it what you want but I’m learning that breakfast is more important than I thought.

According to the Huffington Post, 31 million Americans skip eating breakfast each day, a majority of those being between the ages of 18 and 35. I was surprised to read that the majority of those who do skip the first meal of the day are men.

“The most common reasons people skip breakfast were that they weren’t hungry, didn’t feel like eating or they were too busy. Females are more likely than males to skip a morning meal because of being busy or running late,” according to the article.

I tend to skip breakfast because I am not hungry when I first wake up. Instead, I am usually in a rush to get to some commitment and spend the time I would normally eat running around my house grabbing things I’ll need for the day before I rush out the door.

I am reconsidering my choices because eating breakfast not only helps maintain a healthy weight, it can also improve the grade performance of students. Blinn College conducted a study in 2011 comparing students who ate a healthy breakfast and went to take an exam with students who did not eat. One thousand two-hundred and fifty-nine students were tested and 70 percent of those who ate received a grades of a C or better. Fifty percent of those who did not eat received a C or worse.

For some Ohio University students, eating breakfast is must.

“I have to eat breakfast to even function,” Sara Nealeigh, an OU senior said. “I can’t even get out the door if I’m hungry. I’m also so busy during the day that sometimes I have a hard time making time for lunch. I can’t imagine not having breakfast on days like those.”

Others are like me and don’t always think to eat.

“I’m just not hungry before my 8 a.m. class,” Camille Davis, OU senior said. “I don’t think about it that much until it’s 11 a.m. and I’m starving. I’ve tried to change my eating habits but eating too early makes me feel sluggish and then I just want to go back to bed.”

With this in mind, I’ve decided to take it upon myself to get it together on the breakfast front. I’m planning on eating a healthy breakfast by skipping the processed sugar cereals in favor of eggs, fruit, and oatmeal. As an example of my first venture into earlier eating, I put together a short video of me making an egg and salsa breakfast sandwich. All I used was one scrambled egg, cheese, salt, pepper, whole wheat toast and a little salsa. It was delicious and easy to make. Not to mention, I felt much more energized throughout the day.

I also put together a list on Storify to keep myself inspired as to why breakfast is important. Check it out!

Cheers,

G vs. G

Leave a Reply

