Gym Insecurities (Cont…)

Posted on

Earlier last week I shot some video about gym insecurities. I was curious to find out if other people had little “isms” they noticed about themselves or other people while working out. I myself have been insecure about the way I run or my technique when I lift.

I was surprised to find that I am not the only person to have this problem. Several of the other OU women I interviewed also want to feel secure at the gym, weird running and lifting problems included. But fear not, we insecure people are not alone!

When I googled “insecurity at they gym” there were so many results. Women everywhere wonder who is looking at them while they workout, why they sweat as much as they do, what certain exercises may or may not say about them. Sometimes, the problem lies with other insecurities and weight problems. For example, on My Fitness Pal’s website, one reader spoke about her recent problems at the gym.

“I went to the gym the other day, for the first time in my entire life, with the mindset of getting fit and healthy. With almost 100 lbs to lose to get in a healthy BMI, I’m a pretty big girl. But when I got to the gym, I felt super self conscious! There were literally NO overweight people in there…everyone had a body like a God and were easing through their workouts. They gave me weird looks and I became super self aware of my every movement. I felt like everyone was looking at my red, sweaty face, listening to me being out of breath.”

Another fellow blogger, Aimee at Anxious No More, gave some great tips about avoiding your insecurities at the gym.

1. Take a friend with you. I think it is less nerve-wracking to go to the gym with a friend. You won’t be so focused on yourself and what everyone else thinks of you if you have a friend working out alongside you.

2. If you cannot bring a friend with you to the gym, bring some music to listen to while you workout. Bring an MP3, iPod, or Discman with you to the gym to listen to while you exercise. Listening to music while you exercise will energize you and help you keep focused during your workout.

3. Take a tour beforehand. When you sign up for a new gym, they will usually allow you to take a tour of the exercise room before you actually go in there to workout. Some gyms also give you a guide for your visit to show you how to work the machines and weights in the gym. If the gym you chose offers this service, I’d recommend taking advantage of it. It can be really helpful.

4. Wear something comfortable. Be sure to wear something you feel comfortable in to the gym. This will help you feel better about yourself.

5. Don’t look in the mirrors if you can help it. I was reading a study the other day that said people who go to gyms with mirrors in the workout room are less likely to keep going to the gym, so I don’t even know why they still put mirrors in there, but if you can help it, don’t look in the mirrors while you workout. Having some music might help you distract yourself from watching yourself workout in the mirror. Some gyms also have televisions you can watch while you workout.

A couple I have observed on my own:

6. Read a book while on the treadmill. I see lots of people doing that and want to try it out.

7. Hire a personal trainer. I would love this but they are too expensive for my budget. If you can, they will help you stay focused and motivated. 

So don’t let your own head get to you! The more comfortable you get with your body and your routine, the less you will care what others think.

 

Cheers,

G vs. G

Leave a Reply

